ContactAbout Your ArrestRemain SilentParent/Spouse/SOOut of StatePractice (Crimes)My FeeAbout Me/Location image displayed if flash reader not installed
Search WolfsLaw.com:
By phone:

Office:  (440) 777-1177

Cell:  (440) 823-4781

Fax:  (440) 398-0561

By e-Mail:

SWolf@Wolfslaw.com

By mail:

The Law Office of Stephen W. Wolf, LLC

26777 Lorain Road Suite 709

North Olmsted, Ohio  44070

Location:

Click here for location information

Pay by cash, check or credit:

Order Form



 

Issues having to do with a Commercial Driver's License


This is difficult law:  Call me for a free consultation!

(440) 777-1177


CDL Disqualification Ohio Revised Code, Section 4506.16

You can be disqualified or lose your commercial driver's license for certain convictions.

NOTE: Retesting is only required when downgrading the class of license, or your driver license has expired past 6 months during the course of the suspension.

Requesting a Hearing

A hearing may be requested within 30 days of the mailing of the notice of disqualification.  If the hearing is granted the disqualification will be stayed pending the outcome.

First Conviction

  • 4506.16(D)5 Two serious traffic violations within a three year period:  60 days
  • 4506.16(D)6 Three serious traffic violations within a three year period:  120 days
  • 4506.15(A)2 ALS BAC of .04% or more:  One year
  • 4506.15(A)5 Under influence of controlled substance:  One year
  • 4506.15(A)6 Using the commercial vehicle in the commission of a felony:  One year
  • 4506.15(A)7 Refusing to submit to a blood, breath or urine test: One year
    • If convicted of any of the above while operating a vehicle placarded for hazardous materials, the disqualification increases to three years under 4506.16(B)6 of the ORC.

Second Conviction

  • 4506.15(A)2 ALS BAC of .04% or more:  Life
  • 4506.15(A)5 Under influence of controlled substance:  Life
  • 4506.15(D) Leaving the scene of a traffic crash:  Life
  • 4506.15(E) Using the commercial vehicle in the commission of a felony:  Life
  • 4506.15(F) Refusing to submit to a blood, breath or urine test:  Life
  • 4506.16(B)4 First time commission of a felony with a controlled substance:  Life
  •  4506.15(A)7 First Violation of Out of Service:  90 days
  •  4506.16(A)2 Second Violation of Out of Service:  One year
  • 4506.16(A)3 Third Violation of Out of Service:  Three years

Violation of Out-of-Service (Transporting Hazardous Materials)

  • 4506.16(B)1 First Violation of Out-of-Service:  180 days
  • 4506.16(B)2 Second Violation of Out-of-Service:  Three years

There is no CDL disqualification for physical control violations, but ...

While there is no CDL disqualification for physical control violations, there often is a suspension of a person's driver's license.  Obtaining privileges is then a critical issue in a decision to plead to such a violation.  If you end up with a 365 day suspension of your license, you are, in effect, disqualified.

There are no limited CDL privileges that can be granted.


NOTE: Under Ohio's commercial driver's license law, any person who holds a CDL shall be deemed to have consented to such testing as is required of him/her by any state or jurisdiction. If any level of alcohol is detected, law enforcement can place a commercial driver out-of-service for 24 hours. It is illegal to operate a commercial vehicle with any alcohol in your system.


Return to Practice Page

Return to OVI penalties - click here

The OVI page - click here